The winners of 37 awards were announced at Aotearoa’s 51st Media Awards on Friday 24 May, as well as three Outstanding Achievement Awards.

Spanning four categories, including Written; Audio, Digital and Video; Photography; and All Media, the Awards were celebrated at a glamorous black-tie event upstairs at the historic Shed 10 in Auckland.

Jeremy Corbett and Madeleine Sami co-hosted the evening’s festivities, which brought the industry together to celebrate and recognise excellence in New Zealand journalism.

Some of the big winners on the night included Tracy Watkins for Editorial Leader of the Year; Hawke’s Bay Today for Voyager Newspaper of the Year; Michael Craig for Photographer of the Year; Lawrence Smith for Video Journalist of the Year; Stuff for Digital News Provider of the Year; Sam Sherwood for Reporter of the Year; Alexa Cook for News Reporter of the Year; and Ellen Rykers for Feature Writer of the Year.

Martin van Beynen, Mike Fletcher and Todd Niall were individually recognised with Outstanding Achievement Awards for their contribution to the industry.

“The News Publishers’ Association is honoured to manage the Voyager Media Awards which brings together the news media industry of New Zealand each year to celebrate and recognise the very best in trusted, local, quality journalism.” said Brook Cameron, GM of the NPA.

To see the full results of the 2024 Voyager Media Awards, including the winners’ work and accompanying judges’ comments, go to

You can view a recording of the Awards event here:

A huge thank you to all of our 2024 sponsors:

Premier sponsor: Voyager Internet
Gold sponsors: Air New Zealand, NZ On Air
Silver sponsors: Spark NZ, Sport NZ, TVNZ and Whakaata Māori
Bronze sponsors: Media Copyright Agency (MCA), Telum Media and Warner Bros. Discovery.

Without their generous support these awards would not be possible.

The 2024 Voyager Media Awards celebrate the work of journalists across print, broadcast and digital including reporters, feature writers, columnists, cartoonists, reviewers, photographers and video journalists, culminating in a celebration of the winners in Auckland on Friday 24 May 2024.

Aotearoa’s National Media Awards have celebrated excellence in New Zealand journalism for 51 years. Originally known as the Qantas Press Awards, then the Canon Media Awards, Voyager Internet has been the premier sponsor since 2018. The awards are managed and promoted by the News Publishers’ Association which champions the news media industry of New Zealand.

2024 Voyager Media Award Winners
Best Photography - FeaturesChris SkeltonThe Press / Stuff
Best Photography - NewsIain McGregorThe Press / Stuff
Best Photography - SportBrett PhibbsPhibbsVisuals, Photosport, NZ Herald / NZME
Best Innovation in Digital StorytellingGuyon Espiner, Farah Hancock, John Hartevelt, Cole Eastham-Farrelly and Hingyi KhongRNZ
Best (shortform) Video of the YearBreakfast Team with Jenny-May Clarkson1 News / TVNZ
Best Current Affairs (short)Paddy Gower Has IssuesNewshub / Warner Bros. Discovery
Best Current Affairs (long) or DocumentaryJohn Campbell, Andrew Dalton and Dallas / TVNZ
Best Original Podcast or SeriesMelanie Reid, Bonnie Sumner, Paul Enticott, Judith Curran and Age
Best Columnist, Opinion or CritiqueDanyl McLauchlanNZ Listener / Are Media
Best Up and Coming JournalistElla StewartRNZ
Best InvestigationMelanie Reid, Bonnie Sumner, Paul Enticott and Judith
Best ScoopAndrea VanceThe Post / Stuff
Best Coverage of a Major News EventMichael Morrah with Nick Estelrich, Newshub
Best Editorial Campaign or ProjectGill Higgins, Kaitlin Aldridge and Nicola RussellFair Go / TVNZ
Le Mana Pacific AwardIndira Stewart1News / TVNZ
Te Tohu Kairangi Award - JOINT WINNERMihingarangi ForbesAotearoa Media Collective
Te Tohu Kairangi Award - JOINT WINNERMoana ManiapotoWhakaata Māori
Cartoonist/Animator of the YearToby MorrisThe Spinoff
Sports Journalist of the YearMike WhiteSunday Star-Times, The Post, The Press / Stuff
Business Journalist of the YearEloise GibsonStuff and RNZ
Gordon McLauchlan Journalism AwardMike WhiteSunday Star-Times / Stuff
Local Journalist of the YearAnnemarie QuillStuff
Political Journalist of the YearJack TameQ+A / TVNZ
Best News, Current Affairs or Specialist PublicationRe: NewsTVNZ
Best Newspaper MagazineSunday / RātapuSunday Star-Times / Stuff
Junior Feature Writer of the YearGabi LardiesNew Zealand Geographic and The Spinoff
Community Newspaper of the YearMahurangi Matters
Regional Newspaper of the YearHawke's Bay Today / NZME
Weekly Newspaper of the YearWeekend Herald / NZME
Metropolitan Newspaper of the YearNZ Herald / NZME
Photographer of the YearMichael CraigNZ Herald / NZME
Video Journalist of the YearLawrence SmithStuff
News Journalist of the YearAlexa CookNewshub / Warner Bros. Discovery
Feature Writer of the YearEllen RykersNew Zealand Geographic / Kōwhai Media
Reporter of the YearSam SherwoodNZ Herald / NZME
Voyager Newspaper of the YearHawke's Bay Today / NZME
Digital News Provider of the YearStuff
Editorial Leader of the YearTracy WatkinsThe Post and Sunday Star Times / Stuff
Outstanding Achievement Awards
Outstanding Achievement AwardMartin van Beynen
Outstanding Achievement AwardMike Fletcher
Outstanding Achievement AwardTodd Niall

Please direct any queries about the 2024 Voyager Media Awards to

Brought to you by:

NPA | News Publishers Association Teal Logo

Premier sponsor:

Supporting Sponsors