The New Zealand Media Awards have celebrated excellence in New Zealand journalism since 1973. Originally known as the Qantas Press Awards, then the Canon Media Awards, Voyager Internet has been the premier sponsor since 2018. The awards are managed and promoted by the News Publishers' Association which champions the news media industry of New Zealand.

The Voyager Media Awards are held annually to encourage, showcase and acknowledge the best of New Zealand’s news media across all platforms.  They recognise the work of journalists, reporters, feature writers, columnists, cartoonists, reviewers, photographers and video journalists, culminating in a celebration of the winners in May.

2024 Awards Season Timeline

Entries Open

17 January 2024

Entries Close

23 February 2024 –


March 2024

Finalists Announced & Tickets on Sale

16 April 2024

2023 Voyager Media Awards Celebration

24 May 2024

2023 Awards Celebration

Selection of 2023 Finalists & Winners

Latest News

Finalists announced – 2024 Voyager Media Awards

108 finalists across 36 awards have been selected in the 51st annual New Zealand Media Awards by more than 60 judges.

Read More

Entries close in one week – 2024 Voyager Media Awards

There’s only one week until the closing deadline, so make sure you check out the awards on offer for the 20234 Voyager Media Awards and enter your best work from 2023.

Read More

Entries open for the 2024 Voyager Media Awards

The News Publishers’ Association (NPA) is delighted to announce that entries to the 2024 Voyager Media Awards are now open

Read More

Brought to you by:

NPA | News Publishers Association Teal Logo

Premier sponsor:

Supporting Sponsors