There’s only one week until the closing deadline, so make sure you check out the awards on offer for the 2024 Voyager Media Awards and enter your best work from 2023. Entries close at 5pm on Wednesday 21 February 2024.

Here’s a reminder of some of the key highlights for 2024:

  • one new premium award has been introduced: News Journalist of the Year (All Media) for excellence in news reporting across all platforms.
  • there have been some changes to the following awards: Best Columnist, Opinion or Critique; Best Up and Coming Journalist; Best Investigation; Cartoonist/Animator of the Year; Local Journalist of the Year; Best (shortform) Video of the Year; Gordon McLauchlan Journalism Award; Feature Writer of the Year; Best Current Affairs (long) or Documentary; Best Current Affairs (short); and Digital News Provider of the Year.

We are also delighted to welcome Air New Zealand as a Gold Sponsor this year. “Having Air New Zealand, an iconic kiwi brand join our family of sponsors is wonderful and ensures we can continue to recognise and celebrate the incredible work of New Zealand journalists” said NPA GM Brook Cameron. “We are extremely grateful for all of our sponsors, supporting Aotearoa’s most prestigious news and current affairs journalism awards.”

The list of finalists will be released in mid-April. The 2024 Voyager Media Awards will culminate with a celebration of winners at Shed 10 in Auckland on Friday 24 May.

Key dates:

Wed 17 Jan 2024 – Entries open (10am)
Wed 21 Feb 2024 – Entries close (5pm)
March 2024 – Judging
Tues 16 Apr 2024 – Finalists announced and tickets on sale
Fri 24 May 2024 – Winners announced at a celebration at Shed 10, Auckland

A huge thank you to all of our 2024 sponsors

Premier sponsor: Voyager Internet
Gold sponsors: Air New Zealand, NZ On Air
Silver sponsors: Spark NZ, Sport NZ, TVNZ and Whakaata Māori
Bronze sponsors: Media Copyright Agency (MCA), Telum Media and Warner Bros. Discovery..

Without their generous support these awards would not be possible.*

The 2024 Voyager Media Awards celebrate the work of journalists across print, broadcast and digital including reporters, feature writers, columnists, cartoonists, reviewers, photographers and video journalists, culminating in a celebration of the winners in Auckland on Friday 24 May 2024.

Aotearoa’s National Media Awards have celebrated excellence in New Zealand journalism for 51 years. Originally known as the Qantas Press Awards, then the Canon Media Awards, Voyager Internet has been the premier sponsor since 2018. The awards are managed and promoted by the News Publishers’ Association which champions the news media industry of New Zealand.

*There are a limited number of sponsorship opportunities still available for 2024 if you or your organisation would like to support the celebration and recognition of quality New Zealand journalism.

Please direct any queries about the 2024 Voyager Media Awards to or visit

Brought to you by:

NPA | News Publishers Association Teal Logo

Premier sponsor:

Supporting Sponsors