280 finalists across 66 awards have been selected in the 48th Annual New Zealand Media Awards by a total of 90 judges.

Our judges were impressed by the high calibre of entries put forward after what was an unprecedented year for New Zealand’s media industry which was at the forefront of it all, telling incredible stories.

The full list of finalists can be viewed on the NPA website: npa.co.nz/voyager-media-awards/2021-finalists

90 judges based in nine countries around the world – including New Zealand, Australia, UK, USA, Rarotonga, Hungary, Qatar, Singapore and Malaysia – have co-judged in groups of between two and four to select winners from 1,443 entries.

One judge offered these words which touch on the unique and challenging situation that journalists in 2020 found themselves in:

“The judges…would like to acknowledge that 2020 was a tough year to be a journalist. With trust in Government at record levels, holding power to account took a great deal of judgement and resolve. The winning entry had to preserve the traditional role of journalism as society’s conscience while engaging constructively with this new context. Beyond that, journalists – and indeed all New Zealanders – were being confronted with a pandemic, the magnitude of which we’d never seen before.”

Tickets on sale

Tickets to the 2021 Voyager Media Awards celebration will go on sale to all finalists on Wednesday, April 14. Remaining tickets will then be available for purchase from Monday, April 19 via the Voyager Media Awards website.

Key information

Voyager Media Awards Celebration – Celebrating excellence in journalism
Date: Friday 28 May
Start time: Networking drinks from 6pm, award formalities from 7pm
Finish time: 10pm (approximately)
Venue: Auckland Town Hall
Dress code: Cocktail

The Voyager Media Awards could not happen without the support from our generous sponsors; Voyager Internet, ASB, Canon, Google News Initiative, Huawei, Māori Television, Radio New Zealand, Sky Sport, Science Media Centre, Asia Media Centre, NZ On Air, nib, Newshub and Media Chaplaincy New Zealand.

For further information:
Please contact the Voyager Media Awards team on voyagermediawards@npa.co.nz or visit npa.co.nz/voyager-media-awards

Brought to you by:

NPA | News Publishers Association Teal Logo

Premier sponsor:

Supporting Sponsors