Around 90 former and current print and broadcast journalists, editors, photographers, illustrators and video journalists have recently completed the judging process for the 2021 Voyager Media Awards.

The judges have been hard at work assessing 1443 entries across 64 awards and almost all of the results are in. The full list of finalists across all awards will be announced on Wednesday, April 14.

Around 30% of the judges are new this year, with females comprising half of the full cohort of 90 judges.

The full list of judges can be viewed at

Venue confirmed for 2021 Voyager Media Awards celebration

The Auckland Town Hall is confirmed to host a glitzy cocktail celebration to announce and celebrate the winners of the 2021 Voyager Media Awards on Friday, May 28. Doors will open at 6pm with formalities getting underway from 7pm. The celebrations will culminate with award winners of the News App of the Year, News Website of the Year, Voyager Newspaper of the Year and Editorial Executive of the Year, finishing at around 10pm.

Tickets on sale

Tickets to the 2021 Voyager Media Awards celebration will go on sale Wednesday, April 14 – details on how to secure your tickets will be included in next week’s finalist announcement as well as on the Voyager Media Awards website.

The Voyager Media Awards could not happen without the support from our generous sponsors; Voyager Internet, ASB, Canon, Google News Initiative, Huawei, Māori Television, Radio New Zealand, Sky Sport, Science Media Centre, Asia Media Centre, NZ On Air, nib, Newshub and Media Chaplaincy New Zealand.

For further information:
Please contact the Voyager Media Awards team on or visit

Brought to you by:

NPA | News Publishers Association Teal Logo

Premier sponsor:

Supporting Sponsors