Winners across 65 awards were announced at the 2023 Voyager Media Awards event on Saturday 27 May.

Spanning four categories, including Print/Text Journalism, Broadcast and Digital, Photography and All Media, the Awards were celebrated at a glamorous black-tie event at The Great Room at Cordis, Auckland.

Petra Bagust and Mike Puru co-hosted the evening’s festivities, which brought the industry together for a glittering live event, celebrating the milestone of 50 years of Media Awards in Aotearoa. Guests were also treated to a live performance from Hollie Smith, performing the iconic ‘Slice of Heaven’ by Sir Dave Dobbyn.

Big winners on the night included Janine Fenwick for Editorial Leader of the Year; NZ Herald for Newspaper of the Year; Chris Skelton for Photographer of the Year; Baz Macdonald for Video Journalist of the Year; for News Website of the Year; Stuff for News App of the Year; Pete McKenzie for Reporter of the Year; Tova O’Brien for Broadcast Reporter of the Year – News; and Kristin Hall for Broadcast Reporter of the Year – Current Affairs.

“The News Publishers’ Association is honoured to bring the Voyager Media Awards season together each year. Tonight’s gala event, celebrating the best journalism from 2022 and 50 years of the awards, along with recognising the 125th anniversary of the NPA, was a wonderful industry-wide celebration of independent, trusted, quality journalism.” said Brook Cameron, GM of the NPA which manages the Voyager Media Awards.

A huge thank you to our 2023 sponsors:

Premier sponsor: Voyager Internet
Gold sponsors: NZ On Air and Pacific Cooperation Foundation
Silver sponsors: Canon, E Tū, Spark NZ, Sport NZ, TVNZ, Warner Bros. Discovery and Whakaata Māori
Bronze sponsors: Media Chaplaincy NZ, Media Copyright Agency (MCA, Science Media Centre and Telum Media.

Without their generous support these awards would not be possible.

The 2023 Voyager Media Awards celebrate the work of journalists across print, broadcast and digital including reporters, feature writers, columnists, cartoonists, reviewers, photographers and video journalists, culminating in a celebration of the winners in Auckland on Saturday 27 May 2023.

Aotearoa’s National Media Awards have celebrated excellence in New Zealand journalism for 50 years. Originally known as the Qantas Press Awards, then the Canon Media Awards, Voyager Internet has been the premier sponsor since 2018. The awards are managed and promoted by the News Publishers’ Association which champions the news media industry of New Zealand.

For further information, please contact Brook Cameron, General Manager, News Publishers’ Association on or visit

Brought to you by:

NPA | News Publishers Association Teal Logo

Premier sponsor:

Supporting Sponsors