279 finalists across 64 awards have been selected in the 50th annual New Zealand Media Awards by more than 100 judges.

2022 saw yet another year of unpredictable events; Covid continued to disrupt with the Omicron variant surging across the country and protesters set up camp for weeks outside parliament, ending in violent clashes. But it wasn’t all bad – the Black Ferns won the Rugby World Cup, we observed our first Matariki public holiday and our borders were fully re-opened in July, meaning tourists and international musicians could again return to our shores.

Our journalists worked hard to bring us the facts, the stories, the context and the bigger picture, keeping New Zealanders informed and up to date.

The judges had high praise for entries this year, noting that “…the quality overall was exceptional…the standard just gets better and better.”

102 judges based across five countries – New Zealand, Australia, Rarotonga, USA and the UK – co-judged in groups of between two and four to select winners from 1,650 entries.

The full list of finalists can be viewed by clicking on the ‘View Finalists’ button below – huge congratulations goes out to every one of you:

Tickets on sale

The 2023 Voyager Media Awards will bring the news media industry together to celebrate a milestone – 50 years of Aotearoa’s Media Awards, which have celebrated excellence in New Zealand journalism by recognising and rewarding the best in the craft each year.

There are plenty of tickets available to the 2023 Voyager Media Awards celebration on Saturday 27 May 2023. Publishers can book their tickets directly with the NPA. Freelancers and other people wanting to attend can purchase their tickets online – please email ticketing@mediaawards.co.nz to receive the link.

Key information

2023 Voyager Media Awards Celebration – Celebrating excellence in journalism
Date: Saturday 27 May 2023
Start time: Doors open at 6pm, Award Ceremony commences 7pm sharp
Finish time: 11pm (approximately)
Venue: The Great Room, Cordis, Auckland
Dress code: Black tie
Tickets: $250 each – includes a 3-course meal, drinks, music and entertainment

A huge thank you to our 2023 sponsors:

Premier sponsor: Voyager Internet
Gold sponsors: NZ On Air and Pacific Cooperation Foundation
Silver sponsors: Canon, E Tū, Spark NZ, Sport NZ, TVNZ, Warner Bros. Discovery and Whakaata Māori
Bronze sponsors: Media Chaplaincy NZ, Media Copyright Agency (MCA, Science Media Centre and Telum Media.

Without their generous support these awards would not be possible.

The 2023 Voyager Media Awards celebrate the work of journalists across print, broadcast and digital including reporters, feature writers, columnists, cartoonists, reviewers, photographers and video journalists, culminating in a celebration of the winners in Auckland on Saturday 27 May 2023.

Aotearoa’s National Media Awards have celebrated excellence in New Zealand journalism for 50 years. Originally known as the Qantas Press Awards, then the Canon Media Awards, Voyager Internet has been the premier sponsor since 2018. The awards are managed and promoted by the News Publishers’ Association which champions the news media industry of New Zealand.

For further information, please contact Brook Cameron, General Manager, News Publishers’ Association on brook.cameron@npa.co.nz or visit npa.co.nz/voyager-media-awards

Brought to you by:

NPA | News Publishers Association Teal Logo

Premier sponsor:

Supporting Sponsors