The News Publishers’ Association (NPA) is delighted to advise that entries have now opened for the 2021 Voyager Media Awards. Go to to enter.

In conjunction with key association members the NPA has introduced a number of changes to this year’s awards.

These changes, which include some new awards, will help ensure the awards continue to celebrate and showcase the very best of New Zealand journalism while reflecting the ever-evolving news media industry.

There are four new dedicated ‘Best columnist’ specialty awards, and together with the feature writing awards, Reporter of the Year, Regional Journalist of the Year and Community Journalist of the Year there are 14 written-only awards to choose from.

The coronavirus pandemic has brought into stark relief the impact of quality science journalism and the role of science in supporting media reporting more broadly. In recognition of this, we are pleased to announce the winner of the Science Journalist of the Year award will for the first time receive a $2500 cash award, sponsored by the Science Media Centre.

Information on over 60 awards along with the entry and judging criteria, can be found at Along with the new awards the conditions for some existing awards have been revised. Please read entry criteria carefully.

Entrants, along with editorial managers and team leaders should note that NPA members have agreed to the introduction of award entry fees. Entries from NPA member organisations will be charged $20 (+gst) per entry, while entries from non-NPA organisations will be charged $45 (+gst) per entry.

Entries close at 1pm on Friday, February 26, 2021.

The list of finalists will be released in April. The 2021 Voyager Media Awards will culminate with a celebration of winners in May, details to follow in due course.


For further information:
Please contact Brook Cameron, General Manager, News Publishers’ Association on or visit

Brought to you by:

NPA | News Publishers Association Teal Logo

Premier sponsor:

Supporting Sponsors