What a year it’s been. The past 12 months have seen those in all areas of the news media firmly on the front line, ensuring that New Zealanders are kept up to date and informed.

It’s now time to start collating your best work from 2020, ready to enter the 2021 Voyager Media Awards.

The Voyager Media Awards are held annually to encourage, showcase and acknowledge the best of New Zealand’s news media across all platforms.  They recognise the work of journalists, reporters, feature writers, columnists, cartoonists, reviewers, photographers and video journalists, culminating in a celebration of the winners in May.

Entries open next month on Friday, January 15, 2021 and close on Friday, February 26, 2021.

As always, there are a large range of awards available to enter; 59 awards across eight categories. To remain current, the awards need to keep pace with a rapidly changing news media industry. After consultation with those involved in all aspects of the industry, there are 12 new awards to announce, including several specialist reporting and columnist awards. You can view the full list of 2021 categories and awards here.

Entry and judging criteria for each award will be released in January, prior to the entry opening date.

Finalists will be announced in April and winners will be revealed at a celebration in May 2021.

We’d like to thank our 2021 sponsors; Voyager Internet, Canon, ASB, Google News Initiative, Huawei, Māori Television, RNZ and Sky Sport.  Without their support these awards would not be possible.

The New Zealand Media Awards have celebrated excellence in New Zealand journalism since 1973. Originally known as the Qantas Press Awards, then the Canon Media Awards, Voyager Internet has been the premier sponsor since 2018. The awards are managed and promoted by the News Publishers’ Association which champions the news media industry of New Zealand.

For further information:
Please contact Brook Cameron, General Manager, News Publishers’ Association on brook.cameron@npa.co.nz or visit npa.co.nz/voyager-media-awards

Brought to you by:

NPA | News Publishers Association Teal Logo

Premier sponsor:

Supporting Sponsors