With 50 years of recognising and rewarding exceptional news and current affairs coverage in Aotearoa, the News Publishers’ Association (NPA) is excited to announce the awards list for the 2024 Voyager Media Awards as we look forward to continuing to celebrate excellence in an ever-evolving industry.

We’re delighted to offer awards in 2024 that will represent the epitome of excellence, showcasing exceptional New Zealand journalism. There’s a place for every journalist and for every type of journalism, celebrating the work of reporters, feature writers, columnists, cartoonists, animators, reviewers, photographers and video journalists across print, digital, audio and video.

We’ve taken the time to look at similar industry awards globally, benchmarking Aotearoa’s premium journalism awards with international equivalents and we’ve also listened to feedback from entrants and attendees over the past several years.

The full list of Categories and Awards on offer for the 2024 Voyager Media Awards is now available on the NPA website: npa.co.nz/voyager-media-awards/2024-categories-and-awards/.

The entry and judging criteria for all awards is also available: npa.co.nz/voyager-media-awards/2024-awards-criteria. Please read the criteria carefully as this has been updated for many of the awards.

A change in venue will see the Awards move to the heart of downtown Auckland – upstairs at the historic Shed 10 building, with the event to take place on Friday 24 May next year.

Entries for the 2024 Voyager Media Awards open on Wednesday 17 January, so start thinking about your best work from 2023 and which awards you’ll enter.

Key dates:

Wed 17 Jan 2024 – Entries open (10am)
Wed 21 Feb 2024 – Entries close (5pm)
March 2024 – Judging
Tues 16 Apr 2024 – Finalists announced and tickets on sale
Fri 24 May 2024 – Winners announced at a celebration at Shed 10, Auckland

We are so grateful to have the continued support of our generous sponsors including:
Voyager Internet, NZ On Air, Canon, Spark NZ, Sport NZ, TVNZ, Whakaata Māori, Media Copyright Agency (MCA), Telum Media and Warner Bros. Discovery.
Without their generous support these awards would not be possible*.
*There are a number of sponsorship opportunities available for 2024 if you or your organisation would like to support the celebration and recognition of quality New Zealand journalism.

Aotearoa’s national Media Awards have celebrated excellence in New Zealand journalism for 51 years. Originally known as the Qantas Press Awards, then the Canon Media Awards, Voyager Internet has been the premier sponsor since 2018. The awards are managed and promoted by the News Publishers’ Association which champions the news media industry of New Zealand.

Please direct any queries about the 2024 Voyager Media Awards to voyagermediaawards@npa.co.nz

Brought to you by:

NPA | News Publishers Association Teal Logo

Premier sponsor:

Supporting Sponsors