The News Publishers’ Association (NPA) is delighted to announce that entries to the 2024 Voyager Media Awards are now open

There have been a number of changes to the awards line up this year so please make sure you read the entry criteria carefully and make note of any changes.

The list of awards on offer for the 51st Media Awards highlights the very best in New Zealand journalism today, with 37 premium awards across four categories: All Media; Audio, Digital and Video; Photography; and Written.

One new premium award has been introduced: News Journalist of the Year (All Media) for excellence in news reporting across all platforms.

Awards which have had key changes include: Best Columnist, Opinion or Critique; Best Up and Coming Journalist; Best Investigation; Cartoonist/Animator of the Year; Local Journalist of the Year; Best (shortform) Video of the Year; Gordon McLauchlan Journalism Award; Feature Writer of the Year; Best Current Affairs (long) or Documentary; Best Current Affairs (short); and Digital News Provider of the Year (formerly separate website and app awards).

Entries close on Wednesday 21 February 2024, with the list of finalists being released in mid-April.  Go to the Voyager Media Awards website during the entry open period to access the entry portal and submit your entries.

Key dates:

Wed 17 Jan 2024 – Entries open (10am)
Wed 21 Feb 2024 – Entries close (5pm)
March 2024 – Judging
Tues 16 Apr 2024 – Finalists announced and tickets on sale
Fri 24 May 2024 – Winners announced at a celebration at Shed 10, Auckland

A huge thank you to our 2024 sponsors

Premier sponsor: Voyager Internet
Gold sponsor: NZ On Air
Silver sponsors: Spark NZ, Sport NZ, TVNZ and Whakaata Māori
Bronze sponsors: Media Copyright Agency (MCA), Telum Media and Warner Bros. Discovery.

Without their generous support these awards would not be possible.

The 2024 Voyager Media Awards celebrate the work of journalists across print, broadcast and digital including reporters, feature writers, columnists, cartoonists, reviewers, photographers and video journalists, culminating in a celebration of the winners in Auckland on Friday 24 May 2024.

Aotearoa’s National Media Awards have celebrated excellence in New Zealand journalism for 51 years. Originally known as the Qantas Press Awards, then the Canon Media Awards, Voyager Internet has been the premier sponsor since 2018. The awards are managed and promoted by the News Publishers’ Association which champions the news media industry of New Zealand.

*There are a limited number of sponsorship opportunities still available for 2024 if you or your organisation would like to support the celebration and recognition of quality New Zealand journalism.

For more information, please contact Brook Cameron, General Manager, News Publishers’ Association

Brought to you by:

NPA | News Publishers Association Teal Logo

Premier sponsor:

Supporting Sponsors