There’s only one week until the closing deadline, so make sure you check out the awards on offer for the 2023 Voyager Media Awards and enter your best work from 2022.


This year is a very special one – we’re celebrating 50 years of the Media Awards in Aotearoa. There are 65 awards across four categories: All Media, Broadcast and Digital, Photography and Print/Text Journalism.

Here’s a reminder of the new awards on offer this year:

  • Le Mana Pacific Award for reporting on issues affecting Pacific peoples and communities.
  • Best video documentary series for digital and broadcast documentary series with an episodic format.
  • Best news, current affairs or specialist publication for paid or free magazines, newspapers and websites that don’t meet the requirements for our other awards.
  • Gordon McLauchlan Travel Journalism Award for journalists, video journalists and photo-journalists/photographers, which has been made possible by a donation from Travcom.

And a few things to note about some of our other awards:

  • Best scoop (single news story), which recognises journalistic resourcefulness on an exclusive report or significant piece of breaking news, returns to the line-up this year.
  • ‘Best reporting – Māori affairs’ will be offered in 2023 as Te Tohu Kairangi Award and the entry and judging criteria has been updated.
  • Best Columnist and Best Opinion Writing will be offered as two separate awards in 2023.
  • Best Student Journalist is free to enter. Check the award criteria to see if you’re eligible.

View the full list of categories and awards:

categories & awards

View detailed entry and judging criteria for each award:

Awards Criteria

Entries close at 5pm on Friday 17 February 2023.

The list of finalists will be released in mid-April. The 2023 Voyager Media Awards will culminate with a celebration of winners at Cordis, Auckland on Saturday 27 May.

Key dates:

Friday 17 February 2023 – Entries close (5pm)
March 2023 – Judging
Friday 14 April 2023 – Finalists announced and tickets on sale
Saturday 27 May 2023 – Winners announced at a celebration at Cordis, Auckland

A huge thank you to our 2023 sponsors:

Premier sponsor: Voyager Internet
Gold sponsors: NZ On Air and Pacific Cooperation Foundation
Silver sponsors: Canon, E Tū, Spark NZ, Sport NZ, TVNZ, Warner Bros. Discovery and Whakaata Māori
Bronze sponsors: Media Chaplaincy NZ, Media Copyright Agency (MCA, Science Media Centre and Telum Media.

Without their generous support these awards would not be possible.

The 2023 Voyager Media Awards celebrate the work of journalists across print, broadcast and digital including reporters, feature writers, columnists, cartoonists, reviewers, photographers and video journalists, culminating in a celebration of the winners in Auckland on Saturday 27 May 2023.

Aotearoa’s National Media Awards have celebrated excellence in New Zealand journalism for 50 years. Originally known as the Qantas Press Awards, then the Canon Media Awards, Voyager Internet has been the premier sponsor since 2018. The awards are managed and promoted by the News Publishers’ Association which champions the news media industry of New Zealand.

For further information, please contact Brook Cameron, General Manager, News Publishers’ Association on or visit

Brought to you by:

NPA | News Publishers Association Teal Logo

Premier sponsor:

Supporting Sponsors