The News Publishers’ Association (NPA) is delighted to advise that entries are now open for the 2023 Voyager Media Awards.


There are four new awards in 2023 with a total of 65 awards on offer in this very special 50th year of Aotearoa’s Media Awards. The categories this year are All Media, Broadcast and Digital, Photography and Print/Text Journalism. Categories and awards are reviewed annually in consultation with industry members to ensure that the Awards continue to celebrate and showcase the very best of New Zealand journalism while keeping pace with the evolving news media industry.

View the full list of categories and awards:

categories & awards

View detailed entry and judging criteria for each award:

Awards Criteria

Some of the entry and judging criteria has been updated, so please make sure you read carefully and make note of any changes.

Entries close at 5pm on Friday 17 February 2023, with the list of finalists released in mid-April.

Key dates:

Monday 09 January 2023 – Entries open (10am)
Friday 17 February 2023 – Entries close (5pm)
March 2023 – Judging
Friday 14 April 2023 – Finalists announced and tickets on sale
Saturday 27 May 2023 – Winners announced at a celebration at Cordis, Auckland

A huge thank you to our 2023 sponsors:

Premier sponsor: Voyager Internet
Gold sponsors: NZ On Air and Pacific Cooperation Foundation
Silver sponsors: Canon, E Tū, Spark NZ, Sport NZ, TVNZ, Warner Bros. Discovery and Whakaata Māori
Bronze sponsors: Media Chaplaincy NZ, Media Copyright Agency, Science Media Centre and Telum Media.

Without their generous support these awards would not be possible.

The 2023 Voyager Media Awards celebrate the work of journalists across print, broadcast and digital including reporters, feature writers, columnists, cartoonists, reviewers, photographers and video journalists, culminating in a celebration of the winners in Auckland on Saturday 27 May 2023.

Aotearoa’s National Media Awards have celebrated excellence in New Zealand journalism for 50 years. Originally known as the Qantas Press Awards, then the Canon Media Awards, Voyager Internet has been the premier sponsor since 2018. The awards are managed and promoted by the News Publishers’ Association which champions the news media industry of New Zealand.

For further information, please contact Brook Cameron, General Manager, News Publishers’ Association on or visit

Brought to you by:

NPA | News Publishers Association Teal Logo

Premier sponsor:

Supporting Sponsors