277 finalists across 60 awards have been selected in the 49th annual New Zealand Media Awards by a total of 90 judges.

2021 proved to be yet another unprecedented year and New Zealand’s media industry was again at the forefront of it all, telling incredible stories and keeping New Zealanders informed.

The global pandemic has once again highlighted the critical role of New Zealand journalism as Kiwis turn to their trusted sources for fact-checked, reliable news.

Our judges were again impressed by the high calibre of entries received.  One judge offered these words on entries this year: “…[we the judges] were both really impressed with the quality across the board – there are some potentially outstanding journalists who didn’t get shortlisted this year, but many have the skills and ability to definitely change that in the coming years.”

90 judges based across seven countries – including New Zealand, Australia, Fiji, USA, Rarotonga, Hungary and Qatar – co-judged in groups of between two and four to select winners from 1,380 entries.

The full list of finalists can be viewed on the News Publishers’ Association website – huge congratulations goes out to every one of you.

Tickets on sale

Tickets to the 2022 Voyager Media Awards celebration will be made available to all finalists on Friday, May 27. Any remaining tickets will then be available for purchase from Wednesday, June 01 via the Voyager Media Awards website.

Key information

2022 Voyager Media Awards Celebration – Celebrating excellence in journalism
Date: Saturday, August 20
Start time: Networking drinks from 6pm, Award formalities from 7pm
Finish time: 10pm (approximately)
Venue: The Great Room, Cordis, Auckland
Dress code: Black tie

A big thank you to all of our 2022 sponsors; Voyager Internet, NZ On Air, RNZ, Asia Media Centre, Canon, Google News Initiative, Māori Television, Sky Sport, Spark NZ, Media Chaplaincy NZ, PMCA and Science Media Centre.  Without their generous support these awards would not be possible.  If you would like to support these awards please get in touch with the News Publishers’ Association.

Aotearoa’s 49th National Media Awards have celebrated excellence in New Zealand journalism since 1973. Originally known as the Qantas Press Awards, then the Canon Media Awards, Voyager Internet has been the premier sponsor since 2018. The awards are managed and promoted by the News Publishers’ Association which champions the news media industry of New Zealand.

For further information:
Please contact Brook Cameron, General Manager, News Publishers’ Association on brook.cameron@npa.co.nz