In 2023 the news media industry will come together to celebrate a milestone – 50 years of Aotearoa’s Media Awards, which have celebrated excellence in New Zealand journalism by recognising and rewarding the best in the craft each year.

The Awards celebrate the work of our journalists across print, broadcast and digital including reporters, feature writers, columnists, cartoonists, reviewers, photographers and video journalists. These are the people who keep New Zealanders up to date and informed through pandemics, political upheavals, economic change, technological advances and the myriad of other complex factors that affect our society, culture and economy – and the way we all live.

Entries for the 2023 Voyager Media Awards open next month, so you have just a few weeks to start thinking about your best work from 2022 and which awards you can enter.

The full list of 2023 categories and awards and all entry and judging criteria will be announced on Friday 09 December on the Voyager Media Awards website:

We are grateful to have the continued support of our generous sponsors including Voyager Internet, NZ On Air, Canon, Spark NZ, Whakaata Māori, Media Chaplaincy NZ, Media Copyright Agency (MCA) and Science Media Centre.

In addition, we’re delighted to announce five new sponsors to the fold this year: Pacific Cooperation Foundation, which has joined as a Gold sponsor, supporting the new Le Mana Pacific Award for reporting on issues affecting Pacific peoples and communities; E Tū which has joined as a Silver sponsor in support of Best Student Journalist; TVNZ and Warner Bros. Discovery which have both come on board as Silver sponsors; and Telum Media which has joined as a Bronze sponsor.

Key dates:

Friday 09 December 2022 – Categories, Awards and Criteria announced
Monday 09 January 2023 – Entries open (10am)
Friday 17 February 2023 – Entries close (5pm)
March 2023 – Judging
Friday 14 April 2023 – Finalists announced and tickets on sale
Saturday 27 May 2023 – Winners announced at a celebration at Cordis, Auckland

A huge thank you to our 2023 sponsors:

Premier sponsor: Voyager Internet
Gold sponsors: NZ On Air and Pacific Cooperation Foundation
Silver sponsors: Canon, E Tū, Spark NZ, TVNZ, Warner Bros. Discovery and Whakaata Māori
Bronze sponsors: Media Chaplaincy NZ, Media Copyright Agency (MCA), Science Media Centre and Telum Media.

Without their generous support these awards would not be possible.*

*There are a limited number of sponsorship opportunities still available for 2023 if you or your organisation would like to support the celebration and recognition of quality New Zealand journalism.

Aotearoa’s National Media Awards have celebrated excellence in New Zealand journalism for 50 years. Originally known as the Qantas Press Awards, then the Canon Media Awards, Voyager Internet has been the premier sponsor since 2018. The awards are managed and promoted by the News Publishers’ Association which champions the news media industry of New Zealand.

For further information, please contact Brook Cameron, General Manager, News Publishers’ Association on or visit

Brought to you by:

NPA | News Publishers Association Teal Logo

Premier sponsor:

Supporting Sponsors