Due to continuing disruption from the Omicron outbreak, an extension to the 2022 Voyager Media Awards closing deadline will be made. Entries will now close at 1pm on Friday, March 4.

Get your best work from 2021 ready and enter now!

For detailed criteria on each of our 60 awards, visit the criteria page here.

The list of finalists will be announced in May and our Awards celebration will be held in August to maximise our chances of being able to celebrate together in person as an industry.

Date confirmed for 2022 Voyager Media Awards celebration

Be sure to mark Saturday, August 20 in your diary.  We’ll be announcing the winners of the 2022 Voyager Media Awards at a black-tie celebration at Cordis, Auckland, including a 3-course meal and beverages. Stay tuned for more details.

Key dates:

  • Friday, March 4, 2022 (1pm) – Entries close (extended closing deadline)
  • May 2022 – Finalists announced
  • Saturday, August 20, 2022 – Awards celebration at Cordis, Auckland

A huge thank you to our 2022 sponsors; Voyager Internet, NZ On Air, RNZ, Asia Media Centre, Canon, Google News Initiative, Māori Television, Sky Sport, Spark NZ, Media Chaplaincy NZ, PMCA and Science Media Centre.  Without their generous support these awards would not be possible.*

Aotearoa’s 49th National Media Awards have celebrated excellence in New Zealand journalism since 1973. Originally known as the Qantas Press Awards, then the Canon Media Awards, Voyager Internet has been the premier sponsor since 2018. The awards are managed and promoted by the News Publishers’ Association which champions the news media industry of New Zealand.

*There are a limited number of sponsorship opportunities still available for 2022 if you or your organisation would like to support the celebration and recognition of quality New Zealand journalism.

For further information:
Please contact Brook Cameron, General Manager, News Publishers’ Association on brook.cameron@npa.co.nz