The News Publishers’ Association (NPA) is delighted to advise that entries have now opened for the 2022 Voyager Media Awards.

The Voyager Media Awards recognise the work of New Zealand journalists, reporters, feature writers, columnists, cartoonists, reviewers, photographers and video journalists.

There are five new awards in 2022, bringing the total number of awards on offer this year to just over 60. The awards list is reviewed annually in consultation with industry members to ensure that the awards continue to celebrate and showcase the very best of New Zealand journalism while reflecting the ever-evolving news media industry.

Past entrants to the Awards will notice some changes to category names this year, with some of the awards being realigned accordingly. The categories this year are Print/Text Journalism, Photography, Broadcast Journalism and All Media. For a full list of awards and the categories they fall under CLICK HERE

Entry and judging criteria for all awards can be found HERE. Along with the new awards the entry criteria for some existing awards have been updated, so please ensure you read through all details carefully.

Entries close at 1pm on Friday, February 25, 2022.

The list of finalists will be released in April. The 2022 Voyager Media Awards will culminate with a celebration of winners in Auckland later this year, details to follow soon.

Key dates:

  • Monday, January 17, 2022 (midday) – Entries open
  • Friday, February 25, 2022 (1pm) – Entries close
  • April 2022 – Finalists announced

A huge thank you to our 2022 sponsors; Voyager Internet, NZ On Air, RNZ, Asia Media Centre, Canon, Google News Initiative, Māori Television, Sky Sport, Media Chaplaincy NZ, PMCA and Science Media Centre.  Without their generous support these awards would not be possible.*

Aotearoa’s 49th National Media Awards have celebrated excellence in New Zealand journalism since 1973. Originally known as the Qantas Press Awards, then the Canon Media Awards, Voyager Internet has been the premier sponsor since 2018. The awards are managed and promoted by the News Publishers’ Association which champions the news media industry of New Zealand.

*There are a limited number of sponsorship opportunities still available for 2022 if you or your organisation would like to support the celebration and recognition of quality New Zealand journalism.

For further information:
Please contact Brook Cameron, General Manager, News Publishers’ Association on or visit