Winners across 66 awards were announced at the 2021 Voyager Media Awards event this evening.

Covering nine categories, including digital, feature writing, general, magazines, newspapers, photography, reporting, video and scholarships, the Awards were celebrated at a glitzy cocktail event at the Auckland Town Hall.

Toni Street hosted the evening’s festivities, which brought the industry together en masse for the first time in two years after the cancellation of the live event in 2020 due to Covid.

Big winners on the night included Carmen Parahi for Editorial Executive of the Year, The Weekend Press for Newspaper of the Year, Brett Phibbs for Photographer of the Year, NZ Herald for News App of the Year and News Website of the Year, Alison Mau for Reporter of the Year and Mark Crysell for Broadcast Reporter of the Year.

It was wonderful to able to bring everyone together in person to recognise and celebrate the outstanding quality of journalism and commitment of journalists from across New Zealand media organisations during what was a very challenging year” said Brook Cameron, GM of the NPA which manages the Voyager Media Awards.

To see the full results of the 2021 Voyager Media Awards, including the winners’ work and accompanying judges’ comments, go to Or view the live stream recording of the event here:

The Voyager Media Awards could not happen without the support from our generous sponsors; Voyager Internet, ASB, Canon, Google News Initiative, Huawei, Māori Television, Radio New Zealand, Sky Sport, Science Media Centre, Asia Media Centre, NZ On Air, nib New Zealand, Newshub and Media Chaplaincy New Zealand.

For further information:
Please contact the Voyager Media Awards team on or visit

Brought to you by:

NPA | News Publishers Association Teal Logo

Premier sponsor:

Supporting Sponsors