Canon | Media Awards 2015

AWARD	WINNER
Photographer of the Year	Brett Phibbs, The New Zealand Herald
Junior Photographer of the Year	Charlotte Curd, Taranaki Daily News
Best News Picture	Peter Meecham, The New Zealand Herald
Best Sports Picture	Brett Phibbs, The New Zealand Herald
Best Portrait	Rob Suisted, Nature's Pic Images
Best Feature Photo	Chris Skelton, stuff.co.nz
Best Photo Essay/Slideshow	Hagen Hopkins, Getty Images
Best Environmental Photography	Kirk Hargreaves, The Press
Best Digital Cross-platform News Coverage	The New Zealand Herald
Best Cross-platform Campaign	The New Zealand Herald
Best Innovation in Multimedia Storytelling	The New Zealand Herald
Best Use of Interactive Graphics	The New Zealand Herald
Best Video	Asher Finlayson & Tony Wall - stuff.co.nz/Sunday Star-Times
Best Blog	Jarrod Gilbert
Best Website	nzherald.co.nz
Magazine of the Year	NZ House & Garden
Best Trade/Professional Magazine	Pro Photographer
Best Magazine Design	Home
Best Magazine Cover	Architecture NZ
Magazine Feature Writer of the Year	Rebecca Macfie, NZ Listener
Magazine Feature Writer Business and Politics	Rebecca Macfie, NZ Listener
Magazine Feature Writer Health and Education	Jolisa Gracewood, North & South
Magazine Feature Writer Science and Technology	Donna Chisholm, North & South
Magazine Feature Writer Arts and Entertainment	Mike White, North & South
Magazine Feature Writer General	Rebecca Macfie, NZ Listener
Canon Newspaper of the Year	The New Zealand Herald
Newspaper of the Year (plus 30,000 circulation)	The New Zealand Herald
Newspaper of the Year (up to 30,000 circulation)	Taranaki Daily News
Weekly Newspaper of the Year	Sunday Star-Times
Community Newspaper of the Year	Mountain Scene
Best Newspaper Design	The New Zealand Herald
Best Newspaper Inserted Magazine	Viva - The New Zealand Herald
Reporter of the Year	Jared Savage, The New Zealand Herald
Junior Reporter of the Year	Talia Shadwell, The Dominion Post
Regional Reporter of the Year	Florence Kerr, Waikato Times
Community Reporter of the Year	Frank Marvin, Mountain Scene
Reporter Politics	David Fisher, The New Zealand Herald
Reporter Business	Matt Nippert, Sunday Star-Times
Reporter Crime and Justice	Jared Savage, The New Zealand Herald
Reporter Health and Education	David Fisher, The New Zealand Herald
Reporter Science and Technology	Vaughan Elder, Otago Daily Times



Canon | Media Awards 2015

AWARD	WINNER
Reporter Arts and Entertainment	Shane Gilchrist, Otago Daily Times
Reporter Sport	Mark Geenty, The Dominion Post
Reporter General	Bevan Hurley, Herald on Sunday
Newspaper Feature Writer of the Year	Charles Anderson, The Press/Nelson Mail
Junior Newspaper Feature Writer of the Year	Jeremy Olds, Sunday magazine, Sunday Star-Times
Regional/Community Newspaper Feature Writer of the Year	Naomi Arnold, The Nelson Mail
Newspaper Feature Writer Business and Politics	Adam Dudding, Sunday Star-Times
Newspaper Feature Writer Crime and Justice	Amy Maas, Herald on Sunday
Newspaper Feature Writer Health and Education	Nikki Macdonald, The Dominion Post
Newspaper Feature Writer Science and Technology	Nikki Macdonald, The Dominion Post
Newspaper Feature Writer Arts and Entertainment	Greg Dixon, The New Zealand Herald
Newspaper Feature Writer Sport	Ben Stanley, Sunday Star-Times
Newspaper Feature Writer General	Charles Anderson, The Press/Nelson Mail
Best Investigation	Dylan Cleaver, The New Zealand Herald
Student Journalist of the Year	Don Rowe, Wintec/Sky Sport magazine/Waikato Times
Best Artwork	Richard Parker, Sunday Star-Times/The Dominion Post
Cartoonist of the Year	Chris Slane, NZ Listener
Best Columnist – humour/satire	Deborah Hill Cone, The New Zealand Herald
Best Columnist – general	Michele Hewitson, The New Zealand Herald
Columnist of the Year	Michele Hewitson, The New Zealand Herald
Editorial Writer of the Year	Peter Jackson, The Northland Age
Best Headline	Jo Knight, Sunday magazine, Sunday Star-Times
Reviewer of the Year	Anthony Byrt, Metro/NZ Listener
Fellow to Wolfson College, Cambridge	Shayne Currie

