Canon | Media Awards 2011

AWARD	WINNER
Canon Newspaper of the Year	The New Zealand Herald
Newspaper of the Year (over 30,000 circulation)	The New Zealand Herald
Newspaper of the Year (up to 30,000 circulation)	The Southland Times
Weekly Newspaper of the Year	Weekend Herald
Community Newspaper of the Year	Mountain Scene
Senior Best portfolio of six pictures	Mark Mitchell
Junior Best portfolio of six pictures	Benjamin Curran
Best Single news picture	Kent Blechynden
Best Video	Amy van Dyk,Mike Scott, Matt Rilkoff, Aaron Wood
Best News Site	stuff.co.nz
Best Website	nzherald.co.nz
Best Newsstand Magazine	North & South
Best Trade/Professional Magazine	Unlimited
Magazine Feature Writer of the Year	Donna Chisholm
Junior Magazine Feature Writer of the Year	Elle Hunt
Senior Reporter of the Year	Phil Kitchin
Junior Reporter of the Year	Charles Anderson
Reporter Sport	Barry Lichter
Senior Newspaper Feature Writer of the Year	Tony Wall
Junior Newspaper Feature Writer of the Year	Sarah Murray
Best Investigation	Karyn Scherer
Student Journalism Award	Amelia Wade
Artwork	Anna Crichton
Cartoonist	Jim Hubbard
Columnist	Joe Bennett
Editorial	Peter Calder
Headline	Jim Curran
Reviewer	David Larsen
Best Magazine Design	Good
Best Newspaper Design	The Press
Best Newspaper Inserted Magazine	Canvas
Best Community Collaboration	stuff.co.nz/thepress.co.nz
Best Online Commentary/Blog	Jane Yee
Best Use Of Emerging Technologies	stuff.co.nz ipad & iphone app
Best Sports Picture	Hagen Hopkins
Best Photo Essay	Richard Robinson
Best Breaking News Coverage	thepress.co.nz

