Qantas Media Awards

AWARD	WINNER	
Artwork	Anna Crichton - NZ Herald/North & South/Tatler	
Cartoonist of the Year	Chris Slane - NZ Listener	
Columnist	Jane Clifton – NZ Listener	
Best Editorial Writer	Pamela Stirling - NZ Listener	
Best Headline	Karen Eyres - Pagemasters – NZ Herald/BoP Times/Herald on Sunday	
Humour/Satire	Lisa Scott - Otago Daily Times	
Best Newstand Magazine	NZ Rugby World	
Best Trade/Professional Magazine	CIO magazine	
Best Magazine Cover	NZ Listener	
Best Magazine Designer	Charlie McKay - Metro Magazine	
Best Newspaper Inserted Magazine	Your Weekend - The Press/The Dominion Post/ Waikato Times	
Best Front Page	The New Zealand Herald	
Best Single Website Report	Jock Anderson - National Business Review (NBR.co.nz)	
Best Blog	Kerry Williamson - The Dominion Post	
Best Website Coverage of breaking News Story	www.stuff.co.nz - Editor Sinead Boucher - Napier Siege	
Best Business Website Award	Businessday	
Best Website Design	stuff.co.nz	
Best Website Multi-Media/Video Presentation	Mike Scott - Taranaki Daily News	
Best Online News Website	stuff.co.nz	
Best Sports Website	stuff.co.nz/sport	
Best Story/Project with Community Involvement	No winner. Highly Commended - NZ Herald - Surviving the Recession, Steven Orsbourn, Edward Gay, Paul Stowes	
Best Website	No winner. Joint Highly Commended - stuff.co.nz and nzherald.co.nz	
Student Journalism Award	Amanda Fisher	
Investigative Journalism	Vernon Small – The Dominion Post	
Newspaper Story of the Year	Martin van Beynen – The Press	
JUNIOR NEWSPAPER REPORTER		
Arts and Entertainment	Tom Fitzsimons - The Dominion Post	
Business	Jazial Crossley - National Business Review	
Crime & Justice	Bronwyn Torrie - Manawatu Standard	
Human Relations	Vaimoana Tapeleao - NZ Herald	
Politics	Joseph Barratt - The Aucklander/Herald on Sunday	
General	Matt Calman - The Dominion Post	
Science and Environment	Kirsty Johnston - Taranaki Daily News	
Junior Reporter of the Year	Vaimoana Tapaleao - The New Zealand Herald	
SENIOR NEWSPAPER REPORTER		
Business	Rob Stock – Sunday Star Times	
Crime & Justice	Jared Savage - NZ Herald: Drug ring run from Sky	
Human Relations	Kim Knight – Sunday Star Times	
Politics	Vernon Small – The Dominion Post	
General	Phil Kitchin - The Dominion Post	
Science & Environment	Marty Sharpe – The Dominion Post	
Sport	Rebecca Palmer – The Dominion Post	
Senior Reporter of the Year	Jared Savage - The New Zealand Herald	
JUNIOR NEWSPAPER FEATURES		
Science and Environment	Charles Anderson – The Nelson Mail	
Sport	Greer McDonald – The Dominion Post	
Politics	Sean Gillespie – Waiheke Gulf News	
Human relations	John Hartevelt – The Press	
Arts	Ben Stanley – Waikato Times	



Qantas Media Awards

AWARD	WINNER
Business	Tom Fitzsimons – The Dominion Post
Crime & Justice	John Hartevelt – The Press
Junior Newspaper Feature Writer of the Year	John Hartevelt - The Press
SENIOR NEWSPAPER FEATURE WRITER	John Hallevelt - Hie Pless
Science & Environment	John McCrone – The Press
	Keri Welham - The Dominion Post/Your Weekend
Sport Politics	
Human Relations	Phil Taylor – New Zealand Herald John McCrone – The Press
Arts Business	Christopher Moore – The Press Patrick Crewdson – The Dominion Post
Crime & Justice	Tim Hume – Sunday Star Times
General	-
-	Kim Knight – Sunday Star Times
Senior Newspaper Feature Writer	John McCrone – The Press
JUNIOR MAGAZINE FEATURE WRITER Junior Magazine Feature Writer	Sarah Robson - Salient
Junior Magazine Feature Writer SENIOR MAGAZINE FEATURE WRITER	Salah Kobson - Sallent
Crime	Donna Chisholm – North & South
Politics	Simon Wilson - Metro Simon Wilson - Metro
Arts & Entertainment Human Relations	Amanda Cropp – North & South
Science & Environment	Donna Chisholm – North & South
Business	Rebecca Macfie – New Zealand Listener
Profile	Mike White – North & South
	Simon Wilson - Metro
Best Magazine Feature Writer PHOTOGRAPHY	SITIOTI WIISOTI - MIECTO
Junior Canon Best Portfolio of Six Pictures	Blair Ensor - The Marlborough Express
Best Lifestyle Picture	Blair Ensor - The Mariborough Express Blair Ensor - The Mariborough Express
· 	
Best Single Picture	Christian Canage New Zeeland Handd
Best Sports Picture	Christine Cornege - New Zealand Herald
Best Breaking News Picture	Natasha Martin – The Timaru Herald
Senior Canon Best Portfolio of Six Pictures	Derek Flynn - The Marlborough Express
Best Lifestyle Picture	Amos Chapple - The Aucklander/Our Place Publishing
Best Single Picture	David Hallett - The Press
Best Sports Picture	Phil Walter - Getty Images
Best Breaking News Picture	Mark Taylor - Waikato Times
Arts	Kent Blechynden - The Dominion Post
Environment Portrait	Darryl Torckler - Freelance
-	Mark Taylor – Waikato Times
Object	Amos Chapple – The Aucklander/Our Place Publishing
Fashion	Babiche Martens – NZ Herald
Sport NEWSPAPER OF THE YEAR	Peter Drury - Waikato Times
NEWSPAPER OF THE YEAR	The Wellingtonian
Community Newspaper of the Year	The Wellingtonian
Newspaper of the Year (up to 30,000 circulation)	Hawke's Bay Today The New Zeeland Hereld
Newspaper of the Year (over 30,000 circulation)	The New Zealand Herald
Weekly Newspaper of the Year	Herald on Sunday
Qantas Newspaper of the Year	Herald on Sunday
Print Industry Award for Outstanding Achievement	Tony Reid
Wolfson Fellowship to Cambridge University	Pamela Stirling - NZListener

