

## **2024 MEDIA AWARDS**

AWARD	WINNER	ORGANISATION
Best Photography - Features	Chris Skelton	The Press / Stuff
Best Photography - News	lain McGregor	The Press / Stuff
Best Photography - Sport	Brett Phibbs	PhibbsVisuals, Photosport, NZ Herald / NZME
Best Innovation in Digital Storytelling	Guyon Espiner and Farah Hancock: <i>The Interview</i>	RNZ
Best (shortform) Video of the Year	Breakfast Team with Jenny-May Clarkson: Cyclone Gabrielle Lifeline	1 News / TVNZ
Best Current Affairs (short)	Paddy Gower Has Issues: <i>Bullying and Mobile Phones</i>	Newshub / Warner Bros. Discovery
Best Current Affairs (long) or Documentary	John Campbell, Andrew Dalton and Dallas Smith: Slash	1News.co.nz / TVNZ
Best Original Podcast or Series	Melanie Reid, Bonnie Sumner, Paul Enticott, Judith Curran and Age Pryor: <i>The Boy in the</i> <i>Water</i>	newsroom.co.nz
Best Columnist, Opinion or Critique	Danyl McLauchlan	NZ Listener / Are Media
Best Up and Coming Journalist	Ella Stewart	RNZ
Best Investigation	Melanie Reid, Bonnie Sumner, Paul Enticott and Judith Curran: <i>The Boy in the Water</i>	newsroom.co.nz
Best Scoop	Andrea Vance: Kiri Allan 'yelled and screamed' at me, senior public servant says	The Post / Stuff
Best Coverage of a Major News Event	Michael Morrah with Nick Estelrich, Newshub: Cyclone Gabrielle	
Best Editorial Campaign or Project	Gill Higgins, Kaitlin Aldridge and Nicola Russell: Limitless Campaign	Fair Go / TVNZ
Le Mana Pacific Award	Indira Stewart	1News / TVNZ
Te Tohu Kairangi Award JOINT WINNER	Mihingarangi Forbes	Aotearoa Media Collective
Te Tohu Kairangi Award JOINT WINNER	Moana Maniapoto	Whakaata Māori
Cartoonist/Animator of the Year	Toby Morris	The Spinoff
Sports Journalist of the Year	Mike White	Sunday Star-Times, The Post, The Press / Stuff
Business Journalist of the Year	Eloise Gibson	Stuff and RNZ
Gordon McLauchlan Journalism Award	Mike White	Sunday Star-Times / Stuff
Local Journalist of the Year	Annemarie Quill	Stuff
Political Journalist of the Year	Jack Tame	Q+A / TVNZ
Best News, Current Affairs or Specialist Publication	Re: News	TVNZ
Best Newspaper Magazine	Sunday / Rātapu	Sunday Star-Times / Stuff
Junior Feature Writer of the Year	Gabi Lardies	New Zealand Geographic and The Spinoff
Community Newspaper of the Year	Mahurangi Matters	
Regional Newspaper of the Year	Hawke's Bay Today / NZME	





## **2024 MEDIA AWARDS**

AWARD	WINNER	ORGANISATION
Weekly Newspaper of the Year	Weekend Herald / NZME	
Metropolitan Newspaper of the Year	NZ Herald / NZME	
Photographer of the Year	Michael Craig	NZ Herald / NZME
Video Journalist of the Year	Lawrence Smith	Stuff
News Journalist of the Year	Alexa Cook	Newshub / Warner Bros. Discovery
Feature Writer of the Year	Ellen Rykers	New Zealand Geographic / Kōwhai Media
Reporter of the Year	Sam Sherwood	NZ Herald / NZME
Voyager Newspaper of the Year	Hawke's Bay Today / NZME	
Digital News Provider of the Year	Stuff	
Editorial Leader of the Year	Tracy Watkins	The Post and Sunday Star Times / Stuff

OUTSTANDING ACHIEVEMENT AWARDS	WINNER
Outstanding Achievement Award	Martin van Beynen
Outstanding Achievement Award	Mike Fletcher
Outstanding Achievement Award	Todd Niall



