

## **2022 MEDIA AWARDS**

AWARD	WINNER	ORGANISATION
Best artist/graphic design	Sarah Gladwell: Here magazine design - print, digital and social media	Here/SFG Media
Best coverage of a major news event	Delta outbreak	Stuff
Best data journalism	Chris McDowall and Keith Ng: NZ Herald Vaccine Tracker; 40 years of sky-high house prices; Transmission Gully	NZ Herald/NZME
Best editorial campaign or project JOINT WINNER	The 90% Project	NZ Herald/NZME
Best editorial campaign or project JOINT WINNER	Andrea Vance and Iain McGregor: This How it Ends	Stuff
Best innovation in digital storytelling	Stuff Circuit with Paula Penfold, Toby Longbottom, Louisa Cleave, Phil Johnson, Sungmi Kim and Main Reactor: <i>Deleted</i>	Stuff
Best individual investigation	Melanie Reid: Oranga Tamariki whistleblower investigation	newsroom.co.nz
Best team investigation	The Lake	Stuff
Best Reviewer	Philip Matthews	newsroom.co.nz
Best reporting - arts and culture	Steve Braunias	NZ Herald/NZME
Best reporting - crime and justice	Jared Savage	NZ Herald/NZME
Best reporting - environment	Eloise Gibson	Stuff
Best reporting - general	Patrick Gower	Newshub/Discovery NZ
Best reporting - lifestyle	Glenn McConnell	Stuff
Best reporting - local government	Felix Desmarais	Rotorua Daily Post/NZME
Best reporting - Māori affairs	Mihingarangi Forbes	The Hui/Great Southern Television and Newshub/Discovery NZ
Best reporting - science	Jamie Morton	NZ Herald/NZME
Best reporting - social issues, including health and education	Mark Crysell	Sunday/TVNZ
Business Journalist of the Year	Nikki Macdonald	Dominion Post, stuff.co.nz
Cartoonist of the Year	Jeff Bell	Dominion Post and Stuff
Community Journalist of the Year	Justin Latif	The Spinoff
Political Journalist of the Year	Jenna Lynch	Newshub/Discovery NZ
Regional Journalist of the Year	Rob Kidd	Otago Daily Times/Allied Press
Sports Journalist of the Year	Dylan Cleaver	The Bounce
Best Student Journalist	Jem Traylen	BusinessDesk
Best Junior Reporter	Samantha Olley	RNZ
Editorial Leader of the Year	Hamish Fletcher	NZ Herald/NZME
Best breaking news video	Laura Tupou: <i>Papatoetoe tornado</i>	Newshub/Discovery NZ
Best current affairs programme	Te Ao with Moana	Māori Television
Best documentary	The Brains Trust	NZ Herald/NZME
Best feature video (single video journalist)	Rosa Woods: The Whaanga Sisters	Stuff
Best podcast - episodic/recurrent	Newshub Nation with Finn Hogan, Hannah Brown, Sam Harvey and Ben O'Connor: <i>Supplementary</i> <i>Question</i>	Discovery NZ
Best podcast - narrative/serial	Aaron Smale, Kirsten Johnstone, Melody Thomas: <i>The Lake</i>	Popsock Media and Stuff
Video Journalist of the Year	Ross Giblin	Stuff





## **2022 MEDIA AWARDS**

AWARD	WINNER	ORGANISATION
Broadcast Reporter of the Year - News	Tova O'Brien	Newshub/Discovery NZ
Broadcast Reporter of the Year - Current Affairs	Paula Penfold	Stuff Circuit/Stuff
Best photography - features	Chris Skelton	Stuff
Best photography - news	Ricky Wilson	Stuff
Best photography - sport	John Cowpland	Photosport, NZME, Stuff
Best photo-story/essay	Azita Agnew: The Young and the Reckless	Re: News
Photographer of the Year	Brett Phibbs	NZ Herald/NZME, PhibbsVisuals, Photosport
Best headline or hook	Richard Ives	Stuff
Best newspaper front page	The Press	Stuff
Best newspaper magazine	Canvas	NZME
Community Newspaper of the Year	The Beacon	Beacon Publishing
Metropolitan Newspaper of the Year	The Press	Stuff
Regional Newspaper of the Year	Wairarapa Times-Age	National Media
Weekly Newspaper of the Year	Weekend Herald	NZME
Voyager Newspaper of the Year	The Press	Stuff
News App of the Year	NZ Herald/NZME	NZME
News Website of the Year	nzherald.co.nz	NZME
Best feature writing - general	Bess Manson: Jemima Gazley's cancer journey legacy	Dominion Post/Stuff
Best feature writing - crime and justice	Pete McKenzie: The Afterlife of Peter Ellis: How the Fight to Clear His Name is Changing New Zealand Law	North & South
Best feature writing - social issues, including health and education	Anusha Bradley: Women struggle for treatment as ACC changes policy on perineal tears	RNZ
Feature Writer of the Year (short-form)	Simon Wilson	NZ Herald/NZME
Feature Writer of the Year (long-form)	Pete McKenzie	North & South
Junior Feature Writer of the Year	Pete McKenzie	North & South
Best first-person essay or feature	Simon Wilson: Fear and hope in the radiotherapy room	NZ Herald/NZME
Best Columnist (including opinion writing)	Toby Manhire	The Spinoff
Reporter of the Year	Kirsty Johnston	Stuff

