

2021 MEDIA AWARDS

AWARD	WINNER	ORGANISATION
Best innovation in digital storytelling	Game Change: NZ's burgeoning video game industry	RNZ and Vanishing Point Studio
Best podcast - episodic/recurrent	Black Sheep	RNZ
Best podcast - narrative/serial	Getting Better: A Year in the Life of a Māori Medical Student	Bird of Paradise and RNZ
News App of the Year	NZ Herald	NZME
News Website of the Year	nzherald.co.nz	NZME
Best feature writing - general	Greg Bruce: Goodwill hunting	Canvas, NZ Herald/NZME
Best feature writing - crime and justice	Mike White: Anatomy of a Scandal: 20 Years of Lies, Cover-ups, Incompetence and Shonky Science	North & South/Bauer Media
Best feature writing - social issues, including health and education	Florence Kerr: <i>Tame Iti</i>	Stuff
Best first-person essay or feature	Veronica Schmidt: I was filmed in a Kmart changing cubicle	RNZ
Junior Feature Writer of the Year	Michael Andrew	The Spinoff
Feature Writer of the Year (long-form)	Mike White	Dominion Post, Sunday Star-Times/Stuff and North & South/Bauer Media
Feature Writer of the Year (short-form)	Nicholas Jones	NZ Herald/NZME
Best artist/graphic design	Toby Morris: For collaborations with microbiologist Dr Siouxsie Wiles	The Spinoff
Best columnist - business	Pattrick Smellie	BusinessDesk/Content Ltd
Best columnist - general	Anna Rawhiti-Connell	newsroom.co.nz
Best columnist - politics	Jehan Casinader	BusinessDesk/Content Ltd
Best columnist - sport	Paul Thomas	NZ Listener/Are Media
Columnist of the Year	Pattrick Smellie	BusinessDesk
Cartoonist of the Year	Toby Morris	The Spinoff
Opinion Writer of the Year	Leonie Hayden	The Spinoff
Reviewer of the Year	Charlotte Grimshaw	NZ Listener/Are Media and newsroom. co.nz
Editorial Executive of the Year	Carmen Parahi	Stuff
Best magazine cover	Here	SFG Media
Best newsstand magazine	NZ Listener	Are Media
Best trade/professional magazine		NZ Doctor Rata Aotearoa
Best newspaper front page	The Press	Stuff
Best newspaper magazine	Travel	NZ Herald/NZME
Community Newspaper of the Year	Oamaru Mail	Allied Press
Metropolitan Newspaper of the Year	The Press	Stuff
Regional Newspaper of the Year	Rotorua Daily Post	NZME
Weekly Newspaper of the Year	The Weekend Press	Stuff
Voyager Newspaper of the Year	The Weekend Press	Stuff
Best photography - features, including portraits, fashion, food and architecture	David White	Stuff
Best photography - news	Brett Phibbs	NZ Herald/NZME and NZ Geographic/ Kōwhai Media
Best photography - sport	Brett Phibbs	PhibbsVisuals, Photosport, NZ Herald/ NZME
Best photo-story/essay	Lawrence Smith	Stuff





2021 MEDIA AWARDS

AWARD	WINNER	ORGANISATION
Best photography - junior	Ricky Wilson	Stuff
Photographer of the Year	Brett Phibbs	PhibbsVisuals, NZ Herald/NZME, Photosport, NZ Geographic/Kōwhai Media
Best coverage of a major news event	Michael Morrah: Covid-19 crisis	Newshub/Discovery NZ
Best editorial campaign or project	Our Truth: <i>Tā Mātou Pono</i>	Stuff
Best individual investigation	Aaron Smale: Abuse, torture and a deep state campaign of denial	newsroom.co.nz
Best team investigation	NZ First donations	RNZ
Best reporting - crime and justice	Kurt Bayer	NZ Herald/NZME
Best reporting - environment	Eloise Gibson	Stuff
Best reporting - general	Tom Dillane	NZ Herald/NZME
Best reporting - Māori affairs	Mihingarangi Forbes	The Hui/GSTV and Newshub/Discovery NZ
Best reporting - personal finance	Tamsyn Parker	NZ Herald/NZME
Best reporting - social issues, including health and education	Patrick Gower	Newshub/Discovery NZ
Best reporting - travel	Lorna Thornber	Stuff.co.nz/Stuff
Business Journalist of the Year	Nikki Mandow	newsroom.co.nz
Community Journalist of the Year	Jonty Dine	Nelson Weekly
Political Journalist of the Year	Matt Nippert	NZ Herald/NZME
Regional Journalist of the Year	Kurt Bayer	NZ Herald/NZME
Science Journalist of the Year	Charlie Mitchell	Stuff
Sports Journalist of the Year	Suzanne McFadden	newsroom.co.nz
Student Journalist of the Year	Louise Ternouth	RNZ
Junior Reporter of the Year	Te Aniwa Hurihanganui	RNZ
Broadcast Reporter of the Year	Mark Crysell	Sunday/TVNZ
Reporter of the Year	Alison Mau	Stuff
Best breaking news video	Thomas Mead and Jared McCulloch: Southland Floods	TVNZ
Best current affairs/series	Te Ao with MOANA: The Long Reach; Once Were Gangsters; Police Belly Up	Māori Television
Best documentary/series	Emma	Stuff Circuit/Stuff Ltd
Best feature video	Abigail Dougherty: The Mystery of Mrs Muir	Stuff
Video Journalist of the Year	lain McGregor	Stuff
nib Health Journalism Scholarship - junior	Zahra Shahtahmasebi	NZ Doctor Rata Aotearoa
nib Health Journalism Scholarship - senior	Cecile Meier	Stuff

