

AWARD	WINNER	ORGANISATION
Best headline, caption or hook (including social media)	Barnaby Sharp	Nelson Mail/Stuff
Best artwork/graphics (including interactive/motion graphics)	1 News Design team	TVNZ
Best interview or profile	Michelle Langstone	NZ Herald/NZME
Cartoonist of the Year	Toby Morris	The Spinoff
Opinion Writer of the Year	Emma Espiner	newsroom.co.nz
Reviewer of the Year	Paul Little	North & South/Bauer Media
Travel Journalist of the Year	Mike White	North & South/Bauer Media
nib Health Journalism Scholarships - junior	Emma Russell	NZ Herald/NZME
nib Health Journalism Scholarships - senior	Nicholas Jones	NZ Herald/NZME
Regional Journalism Scholarship JOINT WINNER	Natalie Akoorie	NZ Herald/NZME
Regional Journalism Scholarship JOINT WINNER	Aaron Leaman	Waikato Times/Stuff
Peter M Acland Fellowship	Charles Anderson	Vanishing Point Studio
Peter M Acland Fellowship	Mava Enoka	TVNZ
Feature writing - crime and justice	Mike White	North & South/Bauer Media
Feature writing - social issues, including health and education	Florence Kerr	Stuff
Feature writing - general - JOINT WINNER	Steve Braunias	NZ Herald/NZME and newsroom.co.nz
Feature writing - general - JOINT WINNER	Duncan Greive	The Spinoff
Best first-person essay or feature	Tayi Tibble	newsroom.co.nz
Best feature writer - junior	Joel MacManus	Stuff
Feature Writer of the Year - short form	Nicholas Jones	NZ Herald/NZME
Feature Writer of the Year - long form	Aaron Smale	RNZ
Best magazine cover	HOME New Zealand	Bauer Media
Best magazine design	HOME New Zealand	Bauer Media
Best newspaper-inserted magazine	Sunday Magazine	Sunday Star-Times/Stuff
Best trade/specialist publication, free magazine and/or website	Air Force News	Defence Public Affairs
Magazine of the Year - JOINT WINNER	Metro magazine	Bauer Media
Magazine of the Year - JOINT WINNER	New Zealand Geographic	Kōwhai Media
Best photography - features (including portraits, fashion, food and architecture)	Braden Fastier	Nelson Mail/Stuff
Best photography - news	George Heard	The Press/Stuff
Judges' prize for the single best news photo	Stacy Squires	The Press, Dominion Post, Sunday Star- Times/Stuff
Best photography - sport	Mark Baker	Associated Press
Best photo-story/essay	Cameron McLaren	New Zealand Geographic/Kōwhai Media
Photographer of the Year	Alan Gibson	NZ Herald/NZME
Best feature or current affairs video - single video journalist	Luke McPake: <i>Death Bed: The story of Kelly</i> Savage	RNZ
Best video journalist - junior	Cass Marrett	Re: /TVNZ
Video Journalist of the Year	Lawrence Smith	Stuff





AWARD	WINNER	ORGANISATION
Best TV/video documentary	Stuff Circuit: Infinite Evil	Stuff and Māori Television
Best TV/video news item	Barbara Dreaver: Measles lockdown	1 NEWS/TVNZ
Best TV/video current affairs, short	Jehan Casinader: Black Friday	Sunday/TVNZ
Best TV/video current affairs, long	Rediscovering Aotearoa: aroha/love	Re: /TVNZ
Reporting - crime and justice	Blair Ensor	The Press/Stuff
Reporting - social issues, including health and education	Emma Russell	NZ Herald/NZME
Reporting - general	Patrick Gower	Newshub/MediaWorks
Best Reporting - Māori affairs	Te Aniwa Hurihanganui	RNZ
Environmental / Sustainability Award	Kate Evans	NZ Geographic/Kōwhai Media
Science Journalism Award	Eloise Gibson	newsroom.co.nz
Best individual investigation	Patrick Gower: Exposing white supremacy in New Zealand	Newshub/MediaWorks
Best team investigation	Product of Australia: sending convicts to NZ	Stuff
Best (single) news story / scoop	Melanie Reid	newsroom.co.nz
Best coverage of a major news event	Barbara Dreaver: Samoan measles crisis	1 NEWS/TVNZ
Best editorial campaign or project	Oranga Tamariki uplifts	newsroom.co.nz
Best reporter - junior	Logan Church	RNZ
Student Journalist of the Year	Ashley Stanley	newsroom.co.nz
Community Journalist of the Year	Virginia Fallon	Kāpiti Observer/Stuff
Regional Journalist of the Year	Hamish McNeilly	The Press/Stuff
Sports Journalist of the Year	Dana Johannsen	Stuff
Business Journalist of the Year	Tim Hunter	NBR
Political Journalist of the Year	Audrey Young	NZ Herald/NZME
Broadcast Reporter of the Year	Jehan Casinader	Sunday/TVNZ
Reporter of the Year	Guyon Espiner	RNZ
Best newspaper front page	The Press	Stuff
Community Newspaper of the Year	The Beacon	Beacon Media Group
Newspaper of the Year (up to 30,000 circulation)	Waikato Times	Stuff
Newspaper of the Year (more than 30,000 circulation)	NZ Herald	NZME
Weekly Newspaper of the Year	Sunday Star-Times	Stuff
Podcasts - Best narrative/serial	White Silence	RNZ and Stuff
Podcasts - Best episodic/recurrent JOINT WINNER	Out of My Mind	Stuff
Podcasts - Best episodic/recurrent JOINT WINNER	He Kakano Ahau	RNZ and Ursula Grace Films
Best innovation in digital storytelling	Fighting the Demon	NZ Herald/NZME and Greenstone
Best news website or app	nzherald.co.nz	NZME
Website of the Year	nzherald.co.nz	NZME
/oyager Newspaper of the Year	NZ Herald	NZME
Editorial Executive of the Year	Annabelle Lee-Mather	The Hui/GSTV for MediaWorks

