voyager. Media Awards 2018 JOURNALISM

AWARD	WINNER	ORGANISATION
Best Innovation in Digital Storytelling	Glen Scanlon: NZ Wars: The Stories of Ruapekapeka	RNZ.co.nz, GSTV and Animation Research
Best News website or App	nzherald.co.nz	NZME
Website of the Year - JOINT WINNER	newsroom.co.nz	
Website of the Year - JOINT WINNER	Stuff	
Feature writing - arts, entertainment and lifestyle	Greg Bruce	NZ Herald/NZME
Feature writing - health, education and/or general	Greg Bruce	NZ Herald/NZME
Feature writing - crime, justice and / or social issues	Donna-Lee Biddle	Waikato Times/Stuff
Feature writing - Feature Writer of the Year	Tess McClure	VICE
Feature writing - arts, entertainment and lifestyle	Simon Wilson	The Spinoff
Feature writing - health, education and/or general	Kirsty Johnston	NZ Herald/NZME
Feature writing - crime, justice and / or social issues	Mike White	North & South / Bauer Media Group
Feature writing - Feature Writer of the Year	Kate Evans	NZ Geographic/Kowhai Media and North & South/Bauer Media Group
Best first-person essay or feature	Peter Wells	The Spinoff
Feature writing - sport	Dana Johannsen	NZ Herald/NZME
Feature writing - business and/or personal finance	Rebecca Macfie	NZ Listener/Bauer Media Group
Best Feature Writer - junior	Mirjam Guesgen	VetScript Magazine
Best artwork/graphics (including interactive/ motion graphics)	Toby Morris	The Spinoff and The Wireless/RNZ
Cartoonist of the Year	Sharon Murdoch	The Press, Sunday Star-Times, The Dominion Post/Stuff
Best Headline or hook	Taylor Sincock	Newshub/Mediaworks
Reviewer of the Year	Charlotte Grimshaw	NZ Listener/Bauer Media Group and The Spinoff
Best trade/specialist publication and/or website	Sarah Dunn	NZ Retail and Register.co.nz/Tangible Media
nib Health Journalism Scholarship - junior	Sasha Borissenko	newsroom.co.nz
nib Health Journalism Scholarship - Senior	Barbara Fountain	NZ Doctor/The Health Media
Science and Technology Award	Kate Evans	NZ Geographic/Kowhai Media and North & South/Bauer Media Group
Science and Technology Award	Donna Chisholm	North & South, NZ Listener/Bauer Media Group
Environmental / Sustainability Award	Isobel Ewing	Newshub/Mediaworks
Best editorial campaign or project	Break The Silence	NZ Herald
Editorial Executive of the Year	Murray Kirkness	Editor, NZ Herald/NZME
Best Magazine Design	Susannah Walker, Metro magazine	Bauer Media Group
Magazine of the Year	NZ Geographic	Kowhai Media
Best newspaper-inserted magazine	The Weekend Mix	Allied Press
Best newspaper front page	Hawke's Bay Today	NZME
Community Newspaper of the Year	Mountain Scene	Allied Press
Newspaper of the Year (up to 30,000 circulation)	Waikato Times	Stuff



voyager. Media Awards 2018 JOURNALISM

AWARD	WINNER	ORGANISATION
Newspaper of the Year (more than 30,000 circulation)	The Press	Stuff
Weekly Newspaper of the Year	Weekend Herald	NZME
Opinion writer - general and/or sport	Leah McFall	Sunday magazine, Sunday Star-Times/Stuff
Opinion Writer - humour/satire	Dave Armstrong	The Dominion Post/Stuff
Opinion Writer - business and/or personal finance	Duncan Greive	The Spinoff
Opinion Writer of the Year	Steve Braunias	NZ Herald/NZME
Best feature/photographic essay	Kent Blechynden	scoop.co.nz
Best photography - general	John Borren	Bay of Plenty Times/NZME
Best photography - portrait	Chris Skelton	The Press/Stuff
Best photography - sport	Andrew Cornaga	Photosport
Best photography - news	Joseph Johnson	The Press/Stuff
Best photo - junior	Kavinda Herath	The Southland Times/Stuff
Photographer of the Year	lain McGregor	Stuff
Reporter - arts, entertainment and lifestyle	Hikurangi Jackson	Marae/TVNZ
Reporter - Health, education and/or general	Tony Wall	Stuff
Reporter - crime, justice and/or social issues	Jared Savage	NZ Herald/NZME
Reporter - Maori affairs	Oriini Kaipara	Māori Television
Best (single) news story	Melanie Reid : Politicians, police, and the payout	newsroom.co.nz
Best investigation	Olivia Carville: What becomes of the Broken Hearted	NZ Herald/NZME
Best team investigation	The Valley, New Zealand's war in Afghanistan	Stuff Circuit/Stuff
Best coverage of a major news event	Glen Scanlon: <i>Election 2017</i>	RNZ.co.nz
Best Reporter - junior	Nina Hindmarsh	Nelson Mail/Stuff
Student Journalist of the Year	Ruby Nyika	Waikato Times/Stuff
Community Journalist of the Year	Rob Drent	The Devonport Flagstaff
Regional Journalist of the Year	Carmen Hall	Bay of Plenty Times/NZME
Sports Journalist of the Year	Dana Johannsen	NZ Herald/NZME
Business Journalist of the Year	Matt Nippert	NZ Herald/NZME
Political Journalist of the Year	Audrey Young	NZ Herald/NZME
Reporter of the Year	Melanie Reid	Newsroom.co.nz
Best news video	George Heard	The Press/Stuff
Best feature video	Tasha Impey	TVNZ
Best team video - news	1 NEWS NOW	TVNZ
Best team video - feature	NZ Herald	NZME
Best videographer - junior	Jaden McLeod	NZ Herald Local Focus/NZME
Videographer of the Year	Mike Scott	NZ Herald/NZME
Videographer of the Year	Alexander Robertson	NZME/Very Nice Productions
Voyager Newspaper of the Year	Weekend Herald	NZME
Wolfson Fellowship	Matt Nippert	NZ Herald/NZME

OUTSTANDING ACHIEVEMENT AWARDS	WINNER
Outstanding Achievement Award	Pat Booth
Outstanding Achievement Award	Tom Scott

