Canon Media Awards 2017

AWARD	WINNER	ORGANISATION
Best Blog Site	Villainesse	
Best News Website or App	Newshub	
Website of the Year	NZ Herald	
Best Feature Writer - Junior	Don Rowe	1972 magazine and NZ Geographic
Feature Writer - arts and entertainment	David Larsen	Metro
Feature Writer - business and politics	Simon Wilson	Metro
Feature Writer - crime and justice	James Mahoney	Metro
Feature Writer - general	Aaron Smale: Child Welfare children	RNZ
Feature Writer - health and lifestyle	Kirsty Johnston	NZ Herald
Feature Writer - sport	Dylan Cleaver	NZ Herald
Feature Writer of the Year	Joanna Wane	North & South
Best Feature Writer - Junior	Christopher Reive	Taranaki Daily News
Feature Writer - arts and entertainment	Charlie Gates	The Press
Feature Writer - business and politics	Mava Enoka	The Wireless
Feature Writer - crime and justice	Jared Savage	NZ Herald
Feature Writer - general	Adam Dudding: <i>Learning to sing again</i>	Sunday Star-Times
Feature Writer - health and lifestyle	Greg Bruce	NZ Herald
Feature Writer - sport	Jonathan Carson	Sunday Star-Times
Feature Writer of the Year	Nikki Macdonald	The Dominion Post and Sunday Star-Times
Best artwork/graphics	Toby Morris	RNZ and The Wireless
Best headline	Matthew Dallas	Manawatu Standard
Best trade/specialist publication and/or website		NZ Dairy Exporter magazine
Cartoonist of the Year	Sharon Murdoch	Sunday Star-Times, The Dominion Post and The Press
Reviewer of the Year	Duncan Greive	NZ Herald and The Spinoff
Student Journalist of the Year	Miri Schroeter	Manawatu Standard
Best Magazine Design		HOME
Best newspaper-inserted magazine	Your Weekend	The Dominion Post, The Press and Waikato Times
Magazine of the Year		NZ Geographic
Best coverage of a major news event	Kaikoura earthquake	Stuff, Kaikoura Star, The Dominion Post, The Marlborough Express and The Press
Best editorial campaign or project	#buythisbeachNZ	Stuff
Best newspaper front page		Weekend Herald
Canon Community Newspaper of the Year		Feilding-Rangitikei Herald
Canon Newspaper of the Year		Weekend Herald
Newspaper of the Year (more than 30,000 circulation)		NZ Herald
Newspaper of the Year (up to 30,000 circulation)		Nelson Mail
Weekly Newspaper of the Year		Weekend Herald
Opinion Writer - business and politics	Simon Wilson	Public Address, RNZ and The Spinoff
Opinion Writer - general	Lizzie Marvelly	Weekend Herald
Opinion Writer - humour/satire	Steve Braunias	NZ Herald
Opinion Writer - sport	Dylan Cleaver	NZ Herald
Opinion Writer of the Year	Duncan Garner	The Dominion Post



Canon Media Awards 2017

AWARD	WINNER	ORGANISATION
Best feature photo	Richard Robinson	NZ Geographic
Best general photo	Paul Taylor	Hawke's Bay Today
Best news photo	Blair Pattinson	Otago Daily Times
Best photo (junior)	Christel Yardley	Waikato Times
Best photo essay	Mike Scott	NZ Herald
Best portrait photo	Meek Zuiderwyk	Metro
Best sports photo	Chris Cameron	NZ Herald
Photographer of the Year	Alan Gibson	NZ Herald
Best (single) news story	Olivia Carville and Mike Scott	NZ Herald
Best investigation	Matt Nippert	NZ Herald
Best Reporter (Junior)	Donna-Lee Biddle	Stuff and Waikato Times
Business Journalist of the Year	Gareth Vaughan	Interest
Community Journalist of the Year	Paul Taylor	Mountain Scene
Regional Journalist of the Year	Aaron Leaman	Stuff and Waikato Times
Reporter - arts and entertainment	Vicki Anderson	Stuff and The Press
Reporter - crime and justice	Eugene Bingham, Phil Johnson, Toby Longbottom and Paula Penfold (Stuff Circuit team)	Stuff
Reporter - general	Lane Nichols	Weekend Herald
Reporter - health and lifestyle	Dylan Cleaver	NZ Herald
Reporter - Maori and ethnic affairs	Renee Kahukura losefa	Maori Television
Reporter of the Year	Matt Nippert	NZ Herald
Science and Technology Award	Kate Evans	NZ Geographic
Sports Journalist of the Year	Dylan Cleaver	NZ Herald
Best feature video	Mike Scott	NZ Herald
Best news video	Ross Giblin	Stuff
Best sports video	Brett Phibbs, Mike Scott and Peter Visagie	NZ Herald
Videographer of the Year	Ross Giblin	Stuff
Editorial Executive of the Year	Glen Scanlon	RNZ
nib Health Journalism Scholarship - Junior	Rachel Thomas	Stuff
nib Health Journalism Scholarship - Senior	Dylan Cleaver	NZ Herald
nib Health Journalism Scholarship - Senior	Aaron Leaman	Stuff and Waikato Times
Wolfson Fellowship	Miriyana Alexander	NZ Herald

OUTSTANDING ACHIEVEMENT AWARDS	WINNER
Outstanding Achievement Award	Donna Chisholm
Outstanding Achievement Award	Ross Setford
Outstanding Achievement Award	Matamata Chronicle
Outstanding Achievement Award	New Zealand Cartoon Archive

