Canon Media Awards 2016

AWARD WINNER	
Best Digital Artworks/Graphics Harkanwal Singh - insights.nzherald.co.nz	
Best Print Artworks/Graphics Richard Dale- The New Zealand Herald	
Best Magazine Design Micheal Hanly & Carolyn Lewis - Metro	
Best Trade Publication Pro Photographer - Kowhai Media	
Best Newspaper Inserted Magazine Your Weekend - Fairfax Media	
Best Newspaper Front Page The New Zealand Herald	
Best Headline no winner	
Reporter - Business Matt Nippert - The New Zealand Herald	
Reporter - Politics Joint Winners - Jared Savage and Bernard Orsman - The New Zealand Herald	
Reporter - Crime & Justice Jared Savage - The New Zealand Herald	
Reporter - Health Ben Heather - The Dominion Post	
Reporter - Science & Technology Jamie Morton - The New Zealand Herald	
Reporter - Lifestyle Kim Knight - Sunday Star-Times	
Reporter - Arts & Entertainment Kim Knight - Sunday Star-Times	
Reporter - Sport Dana Johannsen - The New Zealand Herald	
Reporter - General Lincoln Tan - The New Zealand Herald	
Student Journalist of the Year Tommy Livingston - The Dominion Post	
Community Journalist of the Year Kris Dando - Kapi-Mana News	
Regional Journalist of the Year Aaron Leaman - Waikato Times	
Junior Reporter of the Year Chloe Winter - The Dominion Post	
Reporter of the Year Matt Nippert - The New Zealand Herald	
Best Investigation Faces of Innocents Project Team - Fairfax Media	
Scoop of the Year Luke Appleby - TVNZ	
Feature Writer - Business Anne Gibson - The New Zealand Herald	
Feature Writer - Politics Rebecca Macfie - NZ Listener	
Feature Writer - Crime & Justice Mike White - North & South	
Feature Writer - Health Rebecca Macfie - NZ Listener	
Feature Writer - Science & Technology Donna Chisholm - NZ Listener	
Feature Writer - Lifestyle Naomi Arnold - Metro	
Feature Writer - Arts & Entertainment Hayden Donnell - 1972 Magazine/The Pantograph Punch	
Feature Writer - Sport Peter Malcouronne - Metro	
Feature Writer - General Michelle Duff - Your Weekend	
Junior Feature Writer of the Year Tess McClure - The Press/RNZ	
Feature Writer of the Year Mike White - North & South	
Reviewer of the Year Simon Wilson - Metro	
Cartoonist of the Year Sharon Murdoch - Sunday Star-Times/The Press	
Opinion Writer - Business Chris Barton - The New Zealand Herald	
Opinion Writer - Politics Jane Clifton - NZ Listener	
Opinion Writer - Humour/Satire Alex Casey - The Spinoff	
Opinion Writer - Sport Paul Thomas - NZ Listener	
Opinion Writer - General Toby Manhire and Toby Morris - RNZ Online	
Opinion Writer of the Year Rachel Stewart - Taranaki Daily News/Manawatu Standard	
Best Feature Photo Andy Jackson - Fairfax Media	
Best Feature Video Mike Scott - Fairfax Media	



Canon Media Awards 2016

AWARD	WINNER	
Best Portrait Photo	Stephen Parker - Rotorua Daily Post	
Best Environmental Photo	Richard Robinson - NZ Geographic	
Best Photo Essay/Slideshow	Richard Robinson - NZ Geographic	
Best Sports Photo	Stephen Parker - Rotorua Daily Post	
Best Sports Video	Nick Reed - The New Zealand Herald	
Best News Photo	Peter Drury - Waikato Times/stuff.co.nz	
Best News Video	Andy Jackson - Fairfax Media	
Videographer of the Year	lain McGregor - The Press	
Junior Photographer of the Year	Grant Matthew - Fairfax Media	
Photographer of the Year	Stephen Parker - Rotorua Daily Post	
Best Editorial Campaign or Project	Forgotten Millions -The New Zealand Herald	
Best Coverage of a News Event	Wellington Floods - The Dominion Post/stuff.co.nz	
Best Innovation in Storytelling	Money in Politics- The New Zealand Herald	
Best Lifestyle/Entertainment Site	The Spinoff - www.thespinoff.co.nz	
Best Blog Site	Public Address	
Best Sports Site	nzherald.co.nz/sport	
Best News Website or App	TVNZ One News Now - www.tvnz.co.nz/one-news	
Website of the Year	The Wireless	
Magazine of the Year	HOME - Bauer	
Community Newspaper of the Year	Kapi-Mana News - Fairfax Media	
Newspaper of the Year less than 30,000	Taranaki Daily News - Fairfax Media	
Newspaper of the Year more than 30,000	The New Zealand Herald	
Weekly Newspaper of the Year	Waikato Times Weekend	
Canon Newspaper of the Year	Waikato Times and Waikato Times Weekend	
nib Health Journalism Scholarship - Junior	Jessica McAllen - The Spinoff/Sunday Star-Times	
nib Health Journalism Scholarship - Senior	Donna Chisholm - North & South, NZ Listener	
Editorial Leader of the Year	Barbara Fountain - New Zealand Doctor	
Wolfson Fellowship	Rebecca Macfie - NZ Listener	

OUTSTANDING ACHIEVEMENT AWARDS	WINNER
Outstanding Achievement Award	Nelson Mail
Outstanding Achievement Award	Marlborough Express
Outstanding Achievement Award	Greymouth Star
Outstanding Achievement Award	Massey Journalism School

